sunsetlaughter.jpg

a eulogy

can you come back to life

again 

?

i’ve never asked for much.

half an ice cream cone

never wanting a full scoop

slow walks on sundays.

just a bit of sunlight in the middle of the day

and the rest could go gray.

can you please

come back

please?

as a flower? 

rain on petals

lid of a ladybug

polished, brand new

like a promised tomorrow

like the glimmer of that sunset

you always send me

from your way back home

i can still hear your long sigh

in the last voice note you

left me, out of breath

full of life

and here i am

days run through me

and it’s nice to know

none of my friends

have never known loss

like mine

days ran through me

like gin and tonics

on saturday nights

black outs, lights out

because holding onto

memory is a child’s hand

holding bouquets of nettle

wondering why the blood

drips on and wondering

when the callous forms

i’m wondering when i’ll see

you again

in dream? in fiction?

one dream, please, it’s all i ask

here you are, in this poem

you’re laughing on and on

about a silly thing you said

or i said, whatever, it doesn’t

matter because you’re here

written, and i want no end to it

so here’s that em dash you always

hate, but i hope you’ll love it

because i made it and it’s for you

all for you to — 

be well

do good work

keep in touch

<3

n

*no further notes, just this song:

lyrics:

i look up from my book and see you sleeping
sleeping on the sofa, wearing my pullover
walking down the streets on little feet
i could almost eat you, lucky me to meet you

wouldn't it be sad if I hadn't met you at all?
i am more than glad that you found me
put your arms around me now
after all this time, I still adore you
need you more than ever, love you 'til forever

Reply

or to participate.