nookish guest #5

cj: depressed, neurotic, slaying.

nookish guest #5

before i started booktube, i used to watch it from the sidelines. i never thought i would ever find myself on the tubes talking bout books.

cj was one of the first people i watched. it was her clear eye for design, her rantish readings. funny thoughts, strong opinions. this wasnโ€™t just a channel of reviews of books. this was a person! cj made me realize that you could be your own person and talk about books in your own way, thus catapulting me out of my quietude and having me blab about books on my own platform. her picks are mine. i take her recs seriously. everything she reads aligns with so much about how i feel about the world, how i move through it. cj has my heart! she was the one that inspired me to start booktube and am forever grateful for her <3

shop cj goods here.

very honored to present the one and only CJ REAAADS!

๐ŸŒž๐Ÿš› describe the view outside your window.

I'm sitting on the couch in our tiny guest house (every time I say we have a guest house I feel like Jeff Bezos or something, I swear it's just essentially a shed in our backyard we converted into a liveable condition) looking at the very unglamorous view of a giant floor level air conditioner right next to our houses water softener system.

๐ŸŒž๐Ÿš› whatโ€™s your food of the month?

SUMO ORANGES BABY! They're back thank GOD. Something to live for. Make sure to do self checkout at the grocery store though and ring them up as a normal orange so you don't go broke on gorgeous peelable citrus.

๐ŸŒž๐Ÿš› whatโ€™s your elevator pitch?

๐ŸŒž๐Ÿš› what are you reading now?

I just picked up Mother Doll by Katya Apekina last night. She wrote one of my fav novels ever, and this is her sophomore release. It's a lot different in tone already and I'm kind of sick of reading about motherhood, but I do have high hopes!

๐ŸŒž๐Ÿš› what are you watching now?

The Curse!!! It's the new TV show by Nathan Fielder and the Safdie Brothers and it's so psycho and uncomfortable. Genuinely the most cringe inducing TV show watching experience of my life. It's about whiteness and saviorship and Emma Stone is so good in it.

๐ŸŒž๐Ÿš› current obsessions?

I'm obsessed with the IDEA of being obsessed with a new video game. Every night I go onto the Nintendo Online Store thinking there's going to be some new release I haven't already heard about waiting for me to change my life and completely rewire my brain. I'm chasing the dragon of an all consuming video game.

๐ŸŒž๐Ÿš› what have you been dreaming about?

I don't remember my sleeping dreams. Isn't that terrible! It's on my list to do the lucid dreaming protocol one day, I'm trying to go to new dimensions when hitting them zzz's baby.

๐ŸŒž๐Ÿš› what song has best represented your mood for the month?

God who knows. I donโ€™t put any of the time investment into music that I did in My Youthโ„ข๏ธ, so I don't spend a lot of time listening to it TBH... I'll shout out a new to me song I found this month and liked instead which is Deaf by Just Mustard. That scream singing does something to me at the end!

๐ŸŒž๐Ÿš› whatโ€™s something youโ€™ve learned this month?

An ongoing lesson for me is "wherever you do, there you are". Meaning, your shit follows you around even if you change up your environment, so face those demons head on! A lot shifted in my day to day over the last few months, and surprise! I'm still the same old CJ. There's a certain sadness that comes with that acceptance that a fresh start doesnโ€™t mean you've suddenly learned how to course correct all of your unhealthy habits, but oh well.

you can find cj and all her bookish thoughts on her youtube.

Reply

or to participate.