jet lag notes

middle of the afternoon and i'm tired.

after Heti’s *Alphabetical Diaries:

  1. After watching, This is Not a Film, two words have stuck out to me: Feel details.

  2. Are crucifixions required?

  3. Blue Hawaii, Elvis Presley, on the morning after Valentine’s Day (Slicin’ Sand + Hawaiian Sunset).

  4. California misses me because I’m so cold here.

  5. Does AI yearn?

  6. Excited to see you this weekend because the whole of the universe is contained in so much of our laughter and so much in my tears yet I have yet to cry in front of you like some kind of fool.

  7. He needs to know that when I cried all those tears, I wanted to be held, but I was not.

  8. Heartbroken.

  9. Hold back, your feelings are turning into too many words.

  10. How do you balance him as a friend and no-longer-lover?

  11. If all the flowers in the world were my heart, it would be all yours.

  12. Is confessing your romantic love to one of your best friends a good idea?

  13. Is it because those wants and needs are my own?

  14. Look at how people are speaking to each other by looking at the verbs alone.

  15. My own romanizations of life are killing me.

  16. “Not everything should be recorded or shared; there is individual freedom in embracing ephemerality. More human interactions should take place only between the people involved; privacy is key to preserving our humanity,” — Adrienne LaFrance.

  17. Plan to go to Mexico, some day, somehow.

  18. Remember to add “watching Elvis Presley movies at 3AM because of jet lag” as a favorite for a February Favorites video.

  19. Remember to respond to comments.

  20. Remember to watch Turning Red because Jessica said to.

  21. Stop falling asleep at 9PM.

  22. What am I supposed to crucify before turning 30?

  23. What want is valid?

  24. Why am I so scared to write my own character’s wants and needs?

*proud Blackwell’s Bookshop affiliate! if you can, please purchase Heti’s latest through the link. it will offer me an oompf in keeping this newsletter going!

p/s: don’t forget: my novella is available here.

Reply

or to participate.